Languedoc walking tours - Languedoc bike tours

Languedoc walking tours - Languedoc bike tours



Languedoc Roussillon flag Languedoc Roussillon Region


 Languedoc Roussillon Region




See all our tours in Languedoc region


Languedoc-Roussillon is one of the 26 regions of France. It comprises 5 departments, and borders the other French regions of Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Rhône-Alpes, Auvergne, Midi-Pyrénées on the one side, and Spain, Andorra and the Mediterranean sea on the other side.

The region is made up of the following historical provinces : province of Languedoc, province of Gévaudan : today's Lozère department and a collection of five historical Catalan pays : Roussillon, Vallespir, Conflent, Capcir, and Cerdagne.

The Languedoc-Roussillon region is dominated by 740,300 acres (2,996 km2) of vineyards, three times the combined area of the vineyards in Bordeaux. The region has been an important winemaking centre for centuries. Grapevines are said to have existed in the South of France since the Pliocene period - before the existence of Homo sapiens. The first vineyards of Gaul developed around two towns: Béziers and Narbonne. The Mediterranean climate and plentiful land with soil ranging from rocky sand to thick clay was very suitable for the production of wine, and it is estimated that one in ten bottles of the world's wine was produced in this region during the 20th century. Despite this enormous quantity, the area's significance was often overlooked by scholarly publications and commercial journals, largely because very little of the wine being produced was classified under an appellation contrôlée until the 1980s.